On February 21, 1958, the Secret Service was asked to investigate the National Academy of Psychology on the initiation of the office of the Vice President Nixon. The investigation indicated that the Vice President was not interested in sponsoring the National Academy of Psychology, and would not permit the Vice President’s name to be used.

Yet another interesting doc found in the FDA declassified records, this one can be found in the Church of Scientology – 121 files zip file,H-7 PDF. The document itself is dated February 12th, 1963.

secret service nixon hubbard 1 secret service nixon hubbard 2Ability #65 (1958) a scientology publication, had the following line on page 5.

One of the people most interested in such a program is Vice President Nixon.

hubbard nixon

That was a lie they put there, Nixon was not interested.

This issue was announcing the “new” Academy.

ability 65 - national academy of american psychologyA color insert was provided, with this “oath” form.

National Academy of American Psychology

National Academy of American Psychology 2

National Academy of American Psychology 3

National Academy of American Psychology 4

The academy’s address was this building – which also housed the Founding Church of Scientology of Washington D.C.

L._Ron_Hubbard_House_-_Dupont_Circle 1812 19th Street, N.WL. Ron Hubbard House – Dupont Circle, 1812 19th Street, N.W

Hubbard had given a lecture on 31 December 1957, as part of The Ability Congress Lectures in Washington, D.C. – the lecture was titled: THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGY. You can read a transcript here.

One of the more interesting lines –

*ONR is Office of Naval Research.

I just didn’t wear out my elbow saluting at all when the ONR told  me to come down there and research to make people more suggestible. And they said if I didn’t do it, why they’d call me back to active duty.

And they told me that on Monday and by Thursday I had effected a resignation from the United States Navy. And when they came back on Thursday and said, “Well, you are in for it now!” I said, “Brother, mitt me, I’m a civilian.”

Hubbard is lying. He didn’t “resign” anywhere near the time period he alleges this little “look at me, I don’t work with the CIA” song-and-dance routine – which is just after Dianetics “hit the stands” as he put it, May of 1950.

The Genus of Dianetics and Scientology, an LRH lecture 31 December 1960 –

World War II they called it. And after that – I had done quite a bit of study in the last year of that war of the endocrine systems and a bunch of things – and I did an enormous amount of work in 46 and 47 which finally culminated in the writing of the book Dianetics: Modern Science of Mental Health, published in very early 1950-May, actually.

Well, just about the time it hit the stands, I was in Washington, DC. This very same city. And a very high ranking officer, a very, very, very high ranking officer you know, Brass!

I was teaching some of the psychiatrists here in Washington how to run engrams, or trying to.

Anyway, this bunch of scrambled eggs comes walking up the steps, and it was on a Monday…
He said, “How would you like to work for the Office of Naval Research?”
I said, “Doing what?”
“Oh, using what you know about the mind…, Uh-to make people more suggestible.”

“Sir,” I said, “I’m not interested.” After all, the book had just been published, the first Foundation was just forming, we were just kicking off and this guy wants to drag me into the Navy.

He says, “Well,” he said, “you’d better watch out… Because I can pull you back into service at your old rank.”

So he left feeling very complacent; and I immediately got on telephones. I had to find some place in the United States, a naval district, that was stupid enough to let me resign. And I found them, God bless them, right down here at the end of Pennsylvania Avenue, the Potomac River Naval Command… It had admirals and everything, and I went in going, “Oohoo, oohoo, ahh, ahh, ahh.” I had a service record and I had my health record, had my resignation all written out. And, factually, up until 1947, I was unable to walk without a cane, I couldn’t see, I was blind. I got processing about that time, however, and ruined my naval record.

And I showed the old admiral down there how I could never be of any use again to the Navy, showing him all the casualties, you know, and sheets of paper… And he says, “You poor fellow. Yes, I’ll accept your resignation.” They rushed it up, got a special assistant to the Secretary of the Navy to okay it, and on Thursday, when the high brass came back to see me again, he says, “Well, have you decided?”

“Yes,” I said, “I’ve decided not to go in.”
He said, “Well,” he said, “I guess I have no other choice but to draft you in at your old rank.”
And I said, “I’m very sorry, but I’m no longer a member of the Armed Services.”

.
How We Have Addressed the Problem of the Mind, an LRH lecture 4 July 1957 –

You’re probably not aware of the fact that before the incorporation papers of the HDRF [Hubbard Dianetics Research Foundation] were filed in 1950, the Office of Naval Intelligence right here in Washington, DC, threatened to call me to active duty to use what I knew about the mind.

…this officer from the Office of Naval Research, came to see me right here in Washington and he wanted me to go on as a civilian employee in order to use what I knew of the mind to make men more suggestible.

And I said, “No.”
…he said to me, “Well, all you have to do is say ‘No’ and I will call you back to active duty because you still are an officer of the United States Navy.”

So I went down here to the Washington Navy Yard, the Potomac River Naval Command, and I got my resignation accepted.

And Thursday the admiral came back to see me, and he says, “Well?”
And I said, “Well?” Fastest resignation on record. There wasn’t anything he could do about it then.

And I went back up to Elizabeth, New Jersey and the HDRF, the first research foundation, was formed, and we went happily on our way just throwing it all over the place.

.
A Postulate Out Of A Golden Age, an LRH lecture 6 December 1956 –

“They said, “You know you’re still in the reserves and we can call you back to active duty on research in the field of the mind.”

I said, “Well, if you put it that way,” I said, “There’s nothing much I can do.”

But I was down to the Potomac River Naval Command, and I was through Bureau of Naval Personnel. …he said, “you’ve decided to come into the service as a civilian?

And I said, “No, I haven’t. I decided not to.” …and handed him my resignation, accepted.

But do you know that immediately predated, by one week, the opening of the Hubbard Dianetic Research Foundation of Elizabeth, New Jersey?

All they wanted to do was get a piece of research done which they in their tyrannical fashion had decided was far more important than any other research that could be done. They wanted me to work on a project to make men more suggestible. “

On Auditing, an LRH lecture 26 May 1961 –

You know, I resigned from the United States Navy in 1950 when they tried to pull me in and put me to work on the subject of research in the human mind.

But in 1950 they tried to kidnap me. They told me that I would be returned to active service to do this research if I did not return to do so as – in a civilian capacity at high pay…

Now all of a sudden, eleven years after the fact, they’ve suddenly awakened once more and they have some of our people in the United States now doing the security checking for them, which is apparently official. I’m supposed to soft-pedal this. I’m not supposed to say anything about the Bureau of Naval Intelligence.

…I was once an officer of the Bureau of Naval Intelligence… Now that first service with which I had contact has now turned around and is apparently using Scientology.

 

As my husband Mike puts it in his book Scientology Roots, Chapter 12, Hubbard’s Life-Long Intelligence career (draft status):

Ron Hubbard states he was asked to perform mind control research as a civilian. He says he declined, but his actions tell the real story. He did exactly what they asked – and as a civilian he immediately opened the Hubbard Dianetic Research Foundation and carried out research into pain-drug-hypnosis…So much for “I didn’t want” to do mind control research, then.

There are multiple copies of his service record in these FDA documents, in different files. It was over six months later than he says, that he resigned – October of 1950.

His whole story – all versions, are just fraught with BS, details all wrong etc.

Here’s an example of one of the records, this is from the same zip file as the other documents today, but it is on p. 99 of the H-65 through H-110 part 2 PDF.

Hubbard naval record 1963

One other interesting line out of the 31 December 1957, lecture (THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGY. You can read a transcript here) – was this:

There is such a thing as American psychology; its right name is Dianetics.

Well, now we know what that “Academy” was really about then.

Now over in the H-35 PDF, we have Dr. Neil R. Brown (his bio is here) of this same National Academy, being mixed up with some kind of legal trouble with a young mental patient.

Dr. Brown’s bio –

My life epitomizes the self-made man. My academic qualifications do not hold water with “the establishment”, because although I attended Temple University and ASU (Arizona State University) my degrees issued from The National Academy of American Psychology, Washington, D.C. fell out of standing when their doors closed because endowment funding failed which was shortly after granting me a PhD in Human Behavior.

The FDA document, p. 15, has:

A pamphlet entitled, “Scientology Information Booklet – that Branch of Psychology.which treats of Human Ability–copyright 1956 by L. ·Ron Hubbard”, stamped on the last page, Neil R. Brown, Official Representative of the Hubbard Association of Scientologists International,” was obtained by Mr. Rice from Dr. Morgenstern…

Summing up, I think it’s rather darkly amusing that Mr. “I am not a crook” Nixon –

Nixon-not-a-crook

didn’t want to be associated with “I am not a crook” Hubbard.

hubbard i am not a crook

By Virginia McClaughry

 

Leave a Reply

Category

Historical Research

Tags

, , , ,